25th ACM SIGMM Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video (NOSSDAV 2015)

March 20th 2015 Portland, Oregon, USA

In colocation with the ACM Multimedia Systems 2015 Conference (MMSys 2015)


NOSSDAV 2015, the 25th annual ACM SIGMM Workshop on Network and Operating Systems Support for Digital Audio and Video, will be co-located with MMSys in Portland, Oregon. As in previous years, the workshop will continue to focus on both established and emerging research topics, high-risk high-return ideas and proposals, and future research directions in multimedia networking and systems. The workshop is organized in a single-track format that encourages active participation and discussions among academic and industry researchers and practitioners. Out-of the-box ideas are particularly in sought. In addition, a special 25th anniversary session is being planned.


The workshop seeks papers in all areas of multimedia networking and systems. Authors are especially encouraged to submit papers with real-world experimental results and real data sets. Topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):

• Mobile, cloud, and peer-to-peer system architectures
• Media streaming, distribution and storage support
• Multimedia communications and system security
• Multi-core and many-core system support
• Networked graphics and virtual environments
• Networked games / Real-time immersive systems
• Operating system, middleware and network support
• Web 2.0 systems and social networks
• Wireless networks and embedded systems for multimedia applications
• Social media and multimedia applications on social networks
• Mobile multimedia applications and support
• Multimedia applications and support for health and quality of life
• Energy-aware and green computing support
• System support for multimedia data storage, analytics, and visualization


Submission Deadline: December 10, 2014  December 17, 2014
Acceptance Notification: February 2, 2015
Camera Ready Deadline: February 16, 2015


Submitted papers must be original and should not be currently under review for any other publication. Authors of accepted papers will need to present their paper at NOSSDAV 2015 in person. Some student travel grants will be available for student attendees. The Proceedings of NOSSDAV 2015 will be published by ACM and distributed at the workshop electronically, and will also be included in the ACM Digital Library.

All paper submissions will be handled electronically in the NOSSDAV 2015 submission web site. Authors should prepare a Portable Document Format (PDF) version of their manuscripts for submission. Papers must be no longer than 6 single-spaced 8.5″ x 11″ pages, including all figures, tables, references, and appendices, in two column single-spaced format, and in a font size no smaller than 10 points. The official publication date is the date the proceedings are made available in the ACM Digital Library. This date may be up to two weeks prior to the first day of the conference. The official publication date affects the deadline for any patent filings related to published work.

Paper submission!


Wu-chi Feng, Portland State University
Michael Zink, University of Massachusetts Amherst


For further queries and extra information, please contact Michael Zink at zink@ecs.umass.edu.


  • Kevin Almeroth, University of California – Santa Barbara
  • Ali C. Begen, Cisco
  • Pablo Cesar, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI)
  • Sheng-Wei (Kuan-Ta) Chen, Academia Sinica
  • Songqing Chen, George Mason University
  • Lai-Tee Cheok, SMU
  • Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Aiman Erbad, Qatar University
  • Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University
  • Pal Halvorsen, Simula, University of Oslo
  • Dilip Krishnappa, Akamai
  • Baochun Li, University of Toronto
  • Ke Liang, ADSC
  • Dwight Makaroff, University of Saskatchewan
  • Ketan Mayer-Patel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Reza Rejaie, University of Oregon
  • Michael Riegler, Simula Research Laboratory
  • Ivica Rimac, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Nabil J. Sarhan, Wayne State University
  • Prashant Shenoy, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa
  • Gwendal Simon, Telecom Bretagne
  • Ramesh Sitaraman, University of Massachusetts Amherst & Akamai Technologies
  • Christian Timmerer, Klagenfurt University
  • Wanmin Wu, Ricoh Innovations Corp
  • Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore
  • Michael Zink, Univ. of Massachusetts

Leave a Reply