ACM Awards Announcement

June 2010

ACM Awards Recognize Computer Scientists for Innovations that Have Real World Impact


In March, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) awarded six prestigious awards for innovations in computing technology that demonstrate the benefits of computational thinking for industry, education, and society. These awards were now presented at the ACM Awards Banquet on June 26, in San Francisco, CA. The awards reflect outstanding achievements that have led to improved medical diagnostics and healthcare delivery, better teaching methods for high school computer science, more secure Internet transactions, and enhanced network efficiency.

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions within Computer Science and Informatics
Gregory Abowd, Georgia Institute of Technology

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
Mihir Bellare, University of California, San Diego
Phillip Rogaway, University of California, Davis

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
Matthias Felleisen, Northeastern University

Grace Murray Hopper Award
Tim Roughgarden, Stanford University

ACM - AAAI Allen Newell Award
Michael I. Jordan, University of California, Berkeley

Software System Award
Mendel Rosenblum, Stanford University
Edouard Bugnion, Cisco
Scott Devine, VMWare
Edward Wang
Jeremy Sugerman, Stanford University

Previous Section Table of Contents Next Section