

ACM NOSSDAV 2010

20th Workshop on Network and Operating System Support for Digital Audio & Video June 2—4, 2010 / Amsterdam, The Netherlands http://www.nossdav.org/2010

Call for Papers

NOSSDAV 2010 is the 20th anniversary of SIGMM's leading workshop on network and operating systems support for digital audio and video. The workshop, hosted by the Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI) and the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU), will continue to focus on emerging research topics, controversial ideas, and future research directions in the area of multimedia systems research.

As in previous years, we will maintain the focused single-track format a setting that stimulates lively discussions among the senior and junior participants.

NOSSDAV encourages experimental research based on real systems and real data sets. Public availability of the source code and data sets discussed in papers presented at NOSSDAV is highly encouraged.

For NOSSDAV 2010, we will accept papers on broad ranges of topics related to the transmission and presentation of digital audio/video objects. We are particularly interested in soliciting articles that discuss systems-level support for distributed social networking, as well as papers that focus on local dispatching and performance aspects of multi-core processors. Other topics of interest include (but are not restricted to):

- OS, middleware and network support
- Overlay networks
- Media streaming, distribution and storage support
- Web 2.0 systems and social networks
- · Media sensor and ad hoc networks / embedded systems
- Multicore architecture support
- Wireless and mobile multimedia systems / network processor support
- · Networked GPUs, graphics and virtual environments
- · Networked games / real-time immersive systems
- Multimedia communications and system security

Please contact the workshop general and program chairs to check if your topic is within the scope of NOSSDAV. In all cases, the quality of presentation (writing style, clarity for persons outside the direct field) will play a role in submission evaluation.

This year's review process will contain a number of experimental components. One of these is ability for authors and reviewers to participate in a double-open review procedure. In this voluntary trial, the names of the submitting authors AND the names of the participating reviewers will be made available during the process. (We hope that 25% of the submissions will participate in this experiment.)

Submissions should be at most SIX pages, using standard ACM proceedings style.

Authors of papers selected by the program committee (and one wild-card paper selected by NOSSDAV participants) will be invited to submit an extended version of their papers to a special issue of ACM/Springer Multimedia Systems Journal.



Important Dates

Paper Submission Deadline: 17 Feb 2010 Decision Notification: 25 Mar 2010 Camera Ready Due: 1 Apr 2010

Organizers

General Chair: Dick C. A. Bulterman, CWI, The Netherlands Program Chair: Mohamed Hefeeda, Simon Fraser University, Canada Publicity Chair: Pål Halvorsen, University of Oslo, Norway Proceeding & Web Chair: Cheng-Hsin Hsu, Deutsche Telekom Lab, USA

Program Committee:

Kevin Almeroth, UC Santa Barbara, USA Grenville Armitage, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia Ali Begen, Cisco, USA Surendar Chandra, USA Kuan-Ta Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan Songqing Chen, George Mason University, USA

Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA

Wu-chang Feng, Portland State University, USA

Wu-chi Feng, Portland State University, USA Romulus Grigoras, University of Toulouse, France

Carsten Griwodz, University of Oslo, Norway Yang Guo, Thomson Corporate Research, USA

Pål Halvorsen, University of Oslo, Norway Cheng-Hsin Hsu, Deutsche Telekom Lab, USA Baochun Li, University of Toronto, Canada Jiangchuan Liu, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Yong Liu, Polytechnic Institute of NYU, USA Andreas Mauthe, Lancaster University, UK Ketan Mayer-Patel, University of Carolina, USA

Klara Nahrstedt, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA

Wei Tsang Ooi, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Thomas Plagemann, University of Oslo, Norway

Sanjay Rao, Purdue University, USA Reza Rejaie, University of Oregon, USA Nabil Sarhan, Wayne State University, USA Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University, USA

Karsten Schwan, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA Prashant Shenoy, University of

Massachusetts Amherst, USA

Shervin Shirmohammadi, University of Ottawa, Canada

Maarten van Steen, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands Ralf Steinmetz, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany Zhenyu Yang, Florida International University,

Zhenyu Yang, Florida International University, USA

Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore, Singapore