The Fifth ACM International Multimedia Conference


Call for Participation

9. - 13. November 1997
Crowne Plaza
Seattle, USA

It is our great pleasure to invite you to join us November 9-13 in Seattle for the Fifth ACM International Multimedia Conference. This will be a unique opportunity for you to network with many of the industry's top researchers, educators, system implementors, content creators and artists from around the world as we come together to exchange ideas and report on new developments relating to all aspects of multimedia technology and systems. Let's explore together both the state-of-the-art and the future of multimedia technology and content in one of the world's most beautiful natural settings, the majestic Pacific Northwest.

A major focus of this year's conference will be issues relating to the human-computer interface. Provocative keynotes will be presented by two acknowledged experts: Ben Shneiderman of the University of Maryland's Department of Computer Science, and Brad A. Myers of Carnegie Mellon University's School of Computer Science. The 40 technical papers to be presented will be augmented by two days of in-depth courses, panel sessions, and state-of-the-art demonstrations.

The conference reception will be held in a truly unique and spectacular setting. We will ride the Seattle Monorail to the Space Needle, an architecturally stunning tower just north of downtown originally built for the 1962 World's Fair and now a world-renowned landmark of the city. There, we will savor Northwest delicacies on the Skyline Level (about a quarter of the way up the tower) while we relax and mingle with old acquaintances and new colleagues. Throughout the evening, we will be free to ride the elevator up to the observation deck for a panoramic view of the city and its environs from a height of 520 feet. A truly memorable experience!

Attendees from the east coast should also note that this year we are pleased to be able to offer deeply discounted cross-country airfare on US Airways. Even if you cannot stay for the whole week, you can still afford to come, because a Saturday night stay is NOT required in order to qualify for these low rates!

We look forward to seeing -you- at ACM MULTIMEDIA'97!

Ephraim P. Glinert and Mark Scott Johnson
General Conference Co-Chairs

James D. Hollan and James D. Foley
Technical Program Co-Chairs

Technical Program Art Demos
Tutorials Demonstrations
Registration Hotel Information
Information for Authors of Accepted Papers Travel Information

Seattle WWW Sites of Interest

Call for Papers

The deadline for the call for papers has expired now.



Person involved
General Co-Chairs Ephraim P. Glinert, Rensselaer
Mark Scott Johnson, Softwire Corporation
Program Chairs Jim Hollan, U. New Mexico
Jim Foley, MERL
Panels Chair Dan Kimura, Washington U. in St. Louis
Tutorials Chair Margaret Burnett, Oregon State U.
Art Chair Tim Skelly, Design Happy
Treasurer John Buford, U. Mass., Lowell
Webmaster Stephan Fischer, TH Darmstadt (Germany)
Student Volunteers Alvin T. Moser, Seattle U.
Demos Chair Bikash Sabata, SRI International
A/V Chair Gary Kimura, Microsoft Corp.
Proceedings Hong-Jiang Zhang, Hewlett-Packard Labs
E-Proceedings Lars Wolf, TH Darmstadt (Germany)
Local Arrangements Ephraim P. Glinert, Rensselaer
Print & E-Publicity Wayne Citrin, U. Colorado at Boulder

Program Committee

Program Chairs Jim Hollan, U. New Mexico
Jim Foley, MERL

Program Committee Members


Bob Allen Bellcore
Dick Bulterman CWI
Isabel Cruz Tufts University
Takaya Endo NTT-AT
Thomas Erickson Apple Computer
Bill Grosky Wayne State University
Patrick Hanrahan Stanford University
Jonathan Helfman AT&T Research
Jessica Hodgins Georgia Institute of Technology
Philipp Hoschka INRIA-W3C
Hiroshi Ishii MIT Media Laboratory
David Kirsh University of California at San Diego
Michael Lesk Bellcore
Wendy MacKay CENA and University of Paris-Sud
Ryohei Nakatsu ATR Media Integration & Communication Research Labs
Ken Perlin New York University
Lawrence Rowe University of California at Berkeley
Steve Roth Carnegie Mellon University
Brian Smith Cornell University
Akikazu Takeuchi Sony Corporation
Alex Weibel Carnegie Mellon University
Kent Wittenburg GTE Laboratories
Ramin Zabih Cornell University
Hong-Jiang Zhang Hewlett Packard Laboratories

General information is available at

Back to sigmm HomepageBack to SIGMM Homepage

Stephan Fischer

Last modified: Tue Aug 5 15:55:17 MET DST