Technical Demonstrations

Call for Technical Demonstrations

For PDF version click here.

ACM Multimedia 2008 invites you to submit a technical demo. Technical Demos should demonstrate leading edge work in any area of multimedia technology and its application.

Submissions are particularly encouraged in the areas of haptics, smell, sensors, novel interface design, 3D multimedia and immersive technologies, wireless multimedia applications, multimedia-based security applications, digital rights management, multimedia databases, content analysis, content-based retrieval, multimedia storage, multimedia networking, media processing, entertainment, compression, hypermedia authoring, multimedia social networking and innovative applications.

Each submission should consist of a 2 page paper (which will be included in the proceedings if accepted) and a presentation/video. Please zip all files into one, and add the EDAS number at the end of the file name before uploading it. The paper should be prepared in double-column ACM proceedings style, and use PDF for the documents. The two files should be packed into one using zip for upload where each file is named using the assigned EDAS paper number. The submission should be registered and the zip'ed file uploaded through EDAS. More submission instructions are available here. All submissions will be peer-reviewed to ensure quality. An award will be given for the best technical demonstration, as judged by an evaluation panel. Demonstrators will be provided with space and access to a local network (but the demo should not rely on the Internet access). The participants will be required to provide their own computing equipment and any additional network, display, haptic, sensor, etc., hardware needed for the demonstration. Key DatesJune 6, 2008

Submission deadlineJune 27, 2008Notification of acceptanceAugust 1, 2008Final camera ready version

ContactsPlease direct any questions regarding technical demonstrations to the co-chairs:Anup Basu (Univ. of Alberta, Canada)Pål Halvorsen (Univ. of Oslo, Norway) Program Committee

W.F. Bischof (University of Alberta, Canada)J. Brandt (Technische Universitat Braunschweig, Germany)C.M. Brown (University of Rochester, USA)R. Chellappa (University of Maryland, USA)I. Cheng (University of Alberta, Canada/University of Pennsylvania, USA)L.S. Davis (University of Maryland, USA)A. Eichhorn (Simula Research Lab., Norway)V. S. Wold Eide (University of Oslo, Norway)J.-M. Frahm (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)V. Kahmann (Technische Universitat Braunschweig, Germany)C. Krasic (University of British Colombia, Canada)W. Kropatsch (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)S. Kumar (Google Inc., USA)K. Li (University of Georgia, USA)X. Li (University of Alberta, Canada)Z-N. Li (Simon Fraser University, Canada)J. Little (University of British Colombia, Canada)L. Liu (IBM Watson, USA)K. Lund (Norwegian Defence Research Establishment, Norway)G. Medioni (University of South California, USA)P. Mordohai (University of Pennsylvania, USA)S. Negahdaripour (University of Miami, USA)A. Shokoufandeh (Drexel University, USA)C. Silva (University of Utah, USA)T. Sziranyi (Budapest University of Technology & Economics, Hungary)P. Zanuttigh (University of Padova, Italy)